partdeafpartgeekpartgirl

December 4, 2010

A nasty experience….

Filed under: Uncategorized — partdeafpartgeekpartgirl @ 5:09 pm

A friend has told me the following:

“My worst experience with an audiologist took place about 15 years ago.

I was 40 when I lost my hearing badly enough to do something about it (65 now) and I was given what was described as an experimental h.aid well suited to my type of loss (mainly middle tones). I was happy with this h.aid for nearly 10 years and never went near audiologists in all that time, but when the h.aid eventually wore out and I had to seek help, the audiologist I saw would not accept that it was NHS issue, and reduced me to tears by virtually calling me a liar. He only accepted that it was NHS issue when I produced my book proving it.

He then prescribed for me the worst h.aid I have ever experienced, out of spite I think. I went private after that for a number of years until the digital models were available on the NHS.”

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

